Bicycle Complaints including 3 Foot Rule Violations in San Carlos can now be reported online at the SMCS Official Website
The office of the San Mateo County sheriff announced May 11 that bicyclists in the whole Peninsula including San Carlos can now report 3-foot passing rule violations in the Sheriff’s online crime portal at https://www.smcsheriff.com/online-crime-reporting
A category for bicyclists’ complaints has been added to the online report system, with exact terms of violation as “operating in unlawful manner, including not obeying the ‘three-foot rule,’” the portal says. Those filing a complaint are to provide their personal information and details of the incident, including the car’s license number.
After investigation, a warning letter will then be sent to the owner of the reported vehicle.
California’s 3-foot law requires the driver of a running motor vehicle to keep safe distance of at least 3-feet from bicyclists traversing on the side of the rode. If not enough distance is possible, the driver is required to slow down to a reasonably safe speed and is allowed to pass the bicycle only in circumstances that would not endanger the latter. The driver may not cross a double yellow center line, even to provide the required clearance.
A violation of this rule is punishable by a fine of thirty five dollars ($35). Should a collision occur between the car and bicyclist because of violation of this law, even causing some bodily injury to the cyclist, a fine of two hundred twenty dollars ($220) shall be imposed upon the driver.
To report a violation, please click the SMCS logo below:
To know more about the California 3-Foot Rule visit this website: https://ctsi-courtnetwork.org/three-feet-safety-act-now-law-california/
Read more news at https://sancarloslife.com/san-carlos-life-blog/